Down Payment Assistance - First Time Home Buyers Program

LINK: First Time Home Buyers Assistance Pamphlet

The City of Taylor, in partnership with Wayne County offers first time home buyers down payment and closing cost assistance when purchasing a home. The assistance comes in the form of an interest-free deferred loan that is due upon the sale of the property by the loan recipient.

Each homebuyer must complete a home ownership counseling program in order to be eligible for assistance. Currently Wayne County has a contract with the National Faith Homebuyers Program to provide a series of classes in credit, buying a home, qualifying for a mortgage, home maintenance, and other related topics. Each potential homeowner earns a certificate of completion after a series of classes.

First time homebuyers are defined as a purchaser who has not owned a home within the last three years. Interested person should contact National Faith Community Homebuyers at (313) 255-9500 to enroll in the program.