View all facilities

Taylor Heritage School

Subfacility of Heritage Park

Attached to St. John’s Lutheran Church, at Telegraph and Northline roads, this one-room school was used for confirmation classes in 1882. In the 1930s, the building was sold to a Taylor resident and converted to a garage. In 1988, it was donated to the City for use in Heritage Park.

The Taylor Historical Society restored the building in 1993 and the school is offered to teachers and their classrooms for a "Day Back In Time". Children can experience old-fashioned desks, slate boards and chalk, inkwells, and pens, McGuffey Readers, and even a hickory stick and dunce stool. The Taylor Heritage School is a popular site for tourists and visitors at Heritage Park.
Go to Calendar