Chinese Taiipei vs. Tyler, Texas for the Junior League world championship Saturday in Taylor

TAYLOR, MICHIGAN – Chinese Taipei and Tyler, Texas, will play for the world championship of Junior League baseball at 4 p.m. Saturday at Taylor’s Heritage Park.

Taipei City defeated Guatemala, 10-3, to win the International championship during the Junior League World Series on Friday night in Taylor.

Then Team Texas used three home runs to defeat El Monte, California, 8-2, and win the United States championship.

The Junior League World Series features the world’s best teams of 13- and 14-year-old baseball players. It’s the “big brother” of the famous Little League World Series played annually in Williamsport, Pennsylvania.

Games of the 30th annual Junior League World Series are played on World Series Field at Heritage Park, 12111 Pardee Road. Admission is a modest $5 per carload.

Those in attendance at Saturday’s world championship game will be part of a live broadcast by ESPN2. The broadcast crew is Al Pawlowski and Eduardo Perez.

Saturday’s annual home run derby will begin about 12:15 p.m.

The world championship games features two high-powered teams that also have plenty of pitching.

The Asia-Pacific champions from the Chung-Ching Junior Little League in Taipei City have yet to lose during the weeklong international tournament for the world’s best teams of 13- and 14-year-olds. The win over Guatemala City was Chinese Taipei’s fifth straight.

Taipei centerfielder Tzu Wei Lin went 4-for-4, scored twice and knocked in two runs. First baseman Chun Yen was 3-for-4 with a run and two RBI. And starting pitcher Cheng Yu Tsai was 2-for-4 and scored twice.

Tsai, Lin and Yao Yuan Hsu combined on a two-hitter and struck out eight batters.

Guatemala, the Latin America champions playing for the first time in any World Series, ended the World Series with a 3-2 record. Both losses were to Chinese Saipei.

The United States championship game started as a tight pitchers’ dual, but ended as a romp for the Rose Capital East League in Tyler, Texas. The USA Southwest all-stars scored three runs in the fifth and five more in the sixth to take the steam out of the USA West champs from El Monte.

Patrick Mahomes II and Ryan Cheatham homered in the fifth and Mason Mallard hit a two-run shot in the sixth to lead the victory. Mallard was 2-for-4, scored twice and knocked in three runs. Cheatham went 2-for-3, scored a run and knocked in two.

Mahomes started and gave up just five hits and one unearned run over 6 1/3 innings, striking out 12. Jake Parker picked up the save. Ricardo Perez went 2-for-4 for California and scored a run in the seventh inning.

The win by Texas avenged a 5-1 win by California on Wednesday. Both teams went 3-1 in the USA Pool and California finished 3-2 overall.

More about the Chinese Taipei team
The all-stars from the Chung-Ching Junior Little League of Taipei City, Chinese Taipei, are 12-0 in post-season play. They won all seven games in the Asia-Pacific region against the national champions of Hong Kong, Philippines, Indonesia, Saipan and Guam. Add to that victories in Taylor over the Latin American champions of Guatemala (twice), the European champions from the Ukraine and the national champions of both Canada and Mexico. Chinese Taipei is the only undefeated team in the World Series. This is the first time a team from Chinese Taipei has played in Taylor, although the country is no stranger to youth baseball success. Taipei, then known as Taiwan in Little League circles, played 24 times for the Little League championship for 12-year-olds in Williamsport, Pennsylvania – and won it a record 17 times. Yet, in Taylor, the Asia-Pacific region is seeking its first world championship. The Taipai players are more than 7,500 miles from home. That’s the third-longest a World Series team has traveled to Taylor. Only Jakarta, Indonesia (9,880 miles) and Manilla, Philippines (8,227 miles) have traveled from longer distances.

More about the Tyler, Texas team
The all-stars from Texas arrived in Taylor after winning the East Texas state championship and the USA Southwest regional championship. They were 15-0 when they started the Junior League World Series and have now lost just once in 20 post-season games. In the regional tournament, Tyler defeated the state champions of Mississippi, New Mexico and West Texas (from Waco) twice. Now they have also defeated state and regional champions from Indiana, Virginia, New Jersey and California. While this is the first time in Taylor for the all-stars from the Rose Capital East League from Tyler, teams from Texas are among the most frequent visitors to the Junior League World Series. This is the 13th time a team from Texas is playing in the 30-year history of the JLWS. Teams from Texas have won the world championship three times: Spring in 1991 and 1996 and El Campo in 2006.

Friday’s Results
International Championship: Chinese Taipei 10, Guatemala 3
United States Championship: Texas 8, California 2

Saturday’s Schedule

Home Run Derby, 12:15 p.m.
World Championship Game: Chinese Taipei vs. Texas, 4 p.m.

Final Pool Play Standings
USA Pool

California 3-1
Texas 3-1
Indiana 2-2
Virginia 1-3
New Jersey 1-3

International Pool
Chinese Taipei 4-0
Guatemala 3-1
Mexico 2-2
Ukraine 1-3
Canada 0-4

From Taylor to the Pros
A number of Junior League World Series players have gone on to become even more famous. At least 11 players went on to play Major League baseball: Gary Sheffield, Brett Myers, Erik Bedard, Derek Bell, Jose and Javier Valentin, Erubial Durazo, Delino DeShields. Chad Hermanson, Shannon Withem and Adam Loewen. Others are University of Nebraska football Coach Bo Pelini, Kansas City Chiefs quarterback Matt Cassel and National Hockey League players Chris Dingman and Steve Reinprecht.

More Information
The Junior League World Series website features up-to-date news throughout the World Series and a profile and rosters for each team. For information, visit The World Series also offers regular updates via the social networking site Facebook. Search for JLWS – Junior League World Series – Taylor Michigan.

The International champions from Chinese Taipei.

The United States champions from Tyler, Texas.