Taylor Parks wins 2010 Taylor Schools Fifth Grade Track Meet

With time running short in the 2010 Taylor Schools Fifth Grade Track Meet, Taylor Parks Coach Joni Bridgens put it on the line: Her young runners would need some first-place finishes.

With only the girls and boys 100-yard dashes and the co-ed relay race remaining, Taylor Parks trailed Blair Moody Elementary by one point, 28 to 27.

Bridgens said Jada McKinney and David Morhan patted her on the back and told the coach not to worry.

McKinney went on to finish first in the girls 100. Then Morhan raced to a first-place finish in the boys 100. Both finished in identical times of 13.3 seconds.

The 12 points they earned sealed the victory for Taylor Parks, which finished with 39 points. Moody, which earned a respectable seven points in the 100s, placed second with 35 points. Kinyon School was third with 30 points.

Bridgens said it was the first-ever victory in the district-wide track meet for Taylor Parks. It was the second championship for Bridgens as a coach. She led Myers Elementary to the title in 2007 and coached Moody to second-place finishes in 2008 and 2009.

“I take the track and field meet seriously and I tried to impress that on the kids,” Bridgens said. “I didn’t know the point totals at the time, but I knew we had to rally at the end and place high in the last three events. They really came through."

The finishes by Moran and McKinney were the only firsts for Taylor Parks during the morning meet, which was held at Kennedy High School.

Taylor Parks did take five second-place finishes, however. Terrell McLain was second in the finals of the boys 50-yard dash, C.J. Lasley was runner-up in the boys softball throw, Angela Meadows took second in the girls standing long jump, Aren Buck was runner-up in the boys 440-yard run and the team of Jade Estell, Morgan Zachiewicz, Sheffield Jones and Jacob Carnes finished second in the relay.

Rounding out the scoring for Taylor Parks were Cailyn O’Conner, who took third in the girls softball throw, and Makayla Henderson, who was fourth in the girls 440.

Moody had three first-place finishes – the most by any school. Kyle Wright was first in the boys 440 (1 minute, 18 seconds), Makayla Reed was first in the girls 50 (7.1 seconds) and Ashley Ruiz won the standing long jump (6 feet, 5 inches).

Third-place Kinyon won two of the 11 events. Jared Weigand took the boys standing long jump in 6 feet, 6 inches and the team of Koyla Brookins, Eric Monahar, Kayla Davis and Sylvester Singleton won the relay in 31.1 seconds.

Holland and Clarence Randall tied for fourth with 21 points. Rounding out the team totals were Myers (20), McDowell (19), Fischer (14) and Eureka Heights (11).

Myers had two firsts. Cierra Pace took the girls 440 in 1:20 and Danieya Young won the girls softball throw by hurling the ball 95 feet.

McDowell’s Chris Micheaux won the boys 50 in 6.9 seconds. And Travon Hoyt of Eureka Heights won the boys softball throw with a toss of 144 feet.

2010 Taylor School District
Fifth Grade Track Meet Leader Board

Team Results
Taylor Parks 39
Moody 35
Kinyon 30
Holland 21
Randall 21
Myers 20
McDowell 19
Fischer 14
Eureka Heights 11

Boys 50-Yard Dash
Chris Micheaux, McDowell (6.9)
Terrell McLain, Taylor Parks
Kyle Busch, Randall
Terrance McLain, Fischer
Greg Reynolds, Myers
Marques Berkley, Kinyon

Girls 50-Yard Dash
Makayla Reed, Moody (7.1)
Shianne Kirchoff, Fischer
Cierra Swinton, Kinyon
Bria Wesley, Holland
Stephanie Rodriguez, Eureka Hts

Boys 100-Yard Dash
David Morhan, Taylor Parks (13.3)
Dan Hawkins, Moody
Matthew Respess, Myers
Kahalil Smith, Holland
Rico Battiata, McDowell
Jacob Tabroski, Kinyon

Girls 100-Yard Dash
Jada McKinney, Taylor Parks (13.3)
Christian Watkins, Kinyon
Auriel Winters, McDowell
Kristina Warsow, Randall
Shana Harris, Moody
Michala Bethune, Eureka Hts

Boys 440-Yard Run
Kyle Wright, Moody (1:18)
Aren Buck, Taylor Parks
Bryant Jackson, Holland
Cody Knight, Kinyon
Jarrett Brown, McDowell
Anthony Caruano, Randall

Girls 440-Yard Run
Cierra Pace, Myers (1:20)
Alexis Bombery, Moody
Aujanae Fuller-McCoy, McDowell
Makayla Henderson, Taylor Parks
Jasmine Pietrangelo, Holland
Samantha Shinavier, Kinyon

Kinyon Kayla Brookins, Eric Monahar, Kayla Davis and Sylvester Singleton (31.1)
Taylor Parks Jade Estell, Morgan Zackiewicz, Sheffield Jones and Jacob Carnes (31.6)
Randall Aleah Merlo, Breanna Fisher, Desmond Johnson, Seamus Steele (32.4)

Boys Softball Throw
Travon Hoyt, Eureka Heights (144 feet)
C.J. Lasleyi, Taylor Parks
Quinn Cullen, Kinyon
Kyle Stringer, Randall
Beau Keathley, Holland
Ryan Carver, McDowell

Girls Softball Throw
Danieya Young, Myers (95 feet)
Karissa Lambert, Randall
Cailyn O’Conner, Taylor Parks
Johnaya Davis, Kinyon
Angel Upleger, Fischer
Victoria Morgan, Holland

Boys Standing Long Jump
Jared Weigand, Kinyon (6-6)
Damani Green, Moody
Michael Merwin, Randall
Brandon Coppel, Holland
Roberts Helton, Eureka Hts
Tre Peterson, Myers

Girls Standing Long Jump
Ashley Ruiz, Moody (6-5)
Angela Meadows, Taylor Parks
Megan Trinderr, Fischer
Tasmeyana Teal, Holland
Naja Potts, Kinyon
Caroline Vaughn, Randall

Taylor Parks team members celebrate news of their 2010 Taylor Schools Fifth Grade Track Meet championship.