Taylor Public Schools Foundation for Educational Excellence awards 2010 scholarships

The Taylor Public Schools Foundation for Educational Excellence awarded 12 scholarships to graduating seniors from Harry S. Truman and John F. Kennedy High Schools during the farewell assemblies held June 9.
The Taylor Big Boy Scholarship, sponsored by Rich and Mary Ann Swor, was awarded to Kennedy senior Adam Wysocki and Truman Senior Samuel Vatamaniuc in the amount of $500 each.

New this year is the “Biker Bob” Scholarship, sponsored by Jason Breckenridge of Taylor’s Biker Bob Motown Harley Davidson. This year’s winners of $500 scholarships were Tiffany Vrabel of Kennedy and Jackie McCaffery of Truman.

The Mayor Jeffrey P. Lamarand Scholarship was awarded to Stephanie DeShano at Kennedy and Ryan Pykor at Truman in the amount of $250 each.

At Truman, the Sam Ellis Memorial Scholarship was awarded for the second year. The scholarship was established in memory of the late Sam Ellis, former Truman principal. The scholarship, in the amount of $1,000, was donated to the foundation by the Ellis family and presented to Truman senior Deidre Dinco. Jennifer Ellis and her son Joe were on hand to present the scholarship.

The Bruce Bone Memorial Scholarship was presented to Kennedy senior Christopher Frasson in the amount of $1,000.

The Grodman Cure Foundation/Shane Simmons Memorial Scholarship, in amount of $1,000, was presented by Dr. Scott Grodman to Kennedy senior Allison Schmaus.

Also new to the foundation this year is the Taylor Ministerial Scholarship, available to students interested in religious study. Two scholarships were presented by Pastor Phillip Nissley of New Hope Assembly of God. This year’s recipients were Kennedy seniors Christina Fitcher and Cameron Holloway in the amounts of $750 and $250, respectively.

The 2010 Educational Athletic Scholarship was presented to Truman senior Sara Hunter in the amount of $1,000.

Barbara Schultz, secretary and treasurer of the foundation’s Board of Directors, organizes the scholarship award presentations.

"One of the highlights for me each school year is awarding the scholarships from the Taylor Schools Foundation for Educational Excellence to selected seniors at John F. Kennedy and Harry S. Truman High Schools,” Schultz said. “It is such a pleasure and delight to interview these student applicants. They are enthusiastic, poised, committed to their career goals and very grateful for the opportunity to receive these scholarships. We have some outstanding students at our Taylor high schools and I am very proud to be part of the Taylor Schools Foundation."

The Taylor Public Schools Foundation for Educational Excellence is a non-profit independent organization of community and business leaders committed to enriching the educational environment of the Taylor School District. The foundation’s mission is to generate, manage and distribute financial and other resources to the Taylor Public Schools for the purpose of assisting and supplementing district programs and projects designed to enhance the quality of education.

Barbara Schultz of the Taylor Schools Foundation for Educational Excellence presents the
Taylor Big Boy Scholarship to Truman senior Samuel Vatamaniuc.

Loren Ristovski, Taylor schools athletic director, presents the Taylor Educational Athletic Scholarship to Truman
senior Sara Hunter.

Jennifer Ellis presents the Sam Ellis Memorial Scholarship to Truman senior Deidre Dinco.

Photos by Kathleen Trent