The Taylor Senior League girls softball team won the District 5 championship and will play in the state championships at Huron High School this weekend. They open play tomorrow (Friday, July 18) against Monroe at 2 p.m.

The All-Star team is made up of 15 and 16-year-olds. After opening up with Monroe, they will play again at 6 p.m. against Macomb. The format guarantees at least three games. Taylor is scheduled to meet Escanaba, last year's state champion, at 9 a.m.

Opening ceremonies are at 10 a.m. at the Huron Little League behind Huron High School, which is across from Michigan Memorial Cemetery.

Taylor's Roster:
Adrianna Navarro 00
Riley McCardle 2
Monik Shepherd 5
Stephanie Neddo 6
Raelynn Carver 7
Haylee McCoy 9
Britanny Conyer 11
Emily Boswell 12
Destinee Francis 13
Karleigh Damron 14
Savannah Mehi 17
Katie Wilson 30
Miranda Hebert 55
Corey McCardle (Mgr.)
Steven Kirk 
Roy Hamilton

Game one
Taylor Softball (District 5) Vs Monroe (District 16) @ 2 p.m.

Game two 
Taylor Softball (District 5) Vs McComb (District 6) @ 6 p.m.

(Saturday pool play completes/semifinals)
Game one 
Taylor Softball (District 5) Vs Escanaba (District 10) @ 9 a.m. 

Game two
1 p.m. TBA

7/20/14 Sunday
Noon: Championship Game

Districts teams participating:
D7- Clair
D9- Clinton
D13- Tri-rivers
D15- Mattawan
D5- Taylor
D6- McComb
D10- Escanaba
D16- Monore