Watkins edges Mitchell for 2010 Taylor City Golf Championship

Alex Watkins of Dearborn edged David Mitchell of Taylor to win the championship flight of the recent 2010 Taylor City Golf Championship.

The biggest story before the golf started was the weather. The night before the sold-out Saturday first round, Taylor Meadows received about 1 1/2 inches of rain, closing the course. The first round was rescheduled for the next day at Lakes of Taylor -- and that was delayed for an hour due to rain as well.

The 96 players teed off at 8 a.m. on a rain-soaked course that played long. But the greens were very receptive to approach shots.

The end of the first round found Watkins and Taylor native Steve Avery leading the field with 73, closely followed by Steve Neuman and Dr. Mark Mann at 74. Fritz Reifert posted 76 to lead the seniors with Daniel Gregg (77) trailing by just one stroke.

In the first round of the women's flight, Heather Neuman (87) had a two-stroke lead over Liz Houston (89).

With the championship flight cut line at 79 like in past years, Frank Migliaccio led the first flight with an 80, followed by Paul Battistelli, Joe Denino, Tom Morris Jr. and Ben Neuman, all at 81.

On the rescheduled day two at Taylor Meadows, the low score was a one-under-par 70 by Ben Neuman, Mitchell and Andrew Lang. Mitchell's score allowed him to pass four players in the championship flight, but he still finished two strokes behind Watkins, who shot an even-par 71 on the tournament's second day to capture the victory.

Neuman's round was good enough to take first place in the first flight (81-70--151). Lang finished second, just one stroke behind (82-70--152).

In the women's flight, Heather Neuman retained her first-round two-stroke lead and took first place when she and Houston shot identical 91s in the second round.

In the senior flight, Reifert and Gregg both shot 74, finishing first and second, respectively, and separating themselves from the rest of the field.

Championship Flight
Champion Alex Watkins of Dearborn (73-71--144)
Runner-up David Mitchell of Taylor (76-70--146)

First Flight
Champion Ben Neuman of Brownstown (87-70--151)
Runner-up Andrew Lang of Grosse ile (82-80--152)

Second Flight
Champion Roger Hurd of Allen Park (87-77--164)
Runner-up Rick Sinnott (87-80--167)

Third Flight
Champion Joe Sobocinski (93-82--175)
Runner-up Billy Bergdoll (95-82--177)

Fourth Flight
Champion Tommaso Vitale of Taylor (100-82--182)
Runner-up Brian Crowton of Westland (103-87--190)

Seniors Flight
Champion Fritz Reifert of Ypsilanti (76-74--150)
Runner-up Daniel Gregg of Ann Arbor (77-74--151)

Women's Flight
Champion Heather Neuman of Brownstown (87-91--178)
Runner-up Liz Houston of Southfield (89-91--180)

Closest to the Pin Winners
Lakes of Taylor Hole 5: Fritz Reifert of Ypsilanti
Lakes of Taylor Hole 17: Jim Grant of Allen Park
Taylor Meadows Hole 6: Charles Marshall of West Bloomfield
Taylor Meadows Hole 12: Ben Neuman of Brownstown

The complete scoreboard can be found at http://www.taylorgolf.com/meadows/uploaded_pics/pdf-20100810170140.pdf

-- Darryl Miller, Taylor Golf Department

Photos coming soon.