Taylor Northwest state champions honored by city

Members of the Taylor Northwest Little League team that won the state championship in the 12-year-old division of Little League baseball have been honored by the City of Taylor. The team was recognized during the August 21 City Council meeting at City Hall. Mayor Cameron Priebe presented certificates to each of the players and members of the coaching staff. Team Taylor won the state championship with a five-game sweep during the state tournament held in August at the four Little Leagues in Taylor. The team was managed by Lanny Hall Jr. and coached by Tim Woolley and Jason Donaldson. Players on the team were Seth Hicks, Nick Willetts, Jacob Morrow, Josh Henke, Andrew Surma, Dakota Foster, Zack Morris, Austin Dubois, Tyler Collett, Devin Goodwell, Eric Hicks and Austen Zub. League President Lanny Hall Sr. and District 5 Administrator Sharon Mayer also were present for the honor at City Hall. The group of players has not lost a district tournament game since the team first formed as 7-year-olds. This was the team’s first state championship, although three of the players – Henke, Morrow and Foster – were members of the 11-year-old state champions from Taylor Northwest two years ago. For all the results and the complete schedule of games in the state tournament, visit http://www.cityoftaylor.com/node/13501.