Election Day is January 15, 2008

City of Taylor Notice of Election

Notice is hereby given that a Presidential Primary Election will be conducted in all voting precincts of the City of Taylor on Tuesday, January 15, 2008, for the purpose of voting for candidates seeking nomination to the office of President of the United States. Following is a list of candidates who have qualified to appear on the Presidential Primary ballot:

Republican Party
Sam Brownback
Rudy Giuliani
Mike Huckabee
Duncan Hunter
John McCain
Ron Paul
Mitt Romney
Tom Tancredo
Fred Thompson

Democratic Party
Hillary Clinton
Chris Dodd
Mike Gravel
Dennis Kucinich

Notice is further given that the following Taylor School District proposal shall also be voted on:

Shall the limitation on the amount of taxes that may be levied by the Taylor School District, Wayne County, Michigan, against all property in the school district, except principal residence and qualified agricultural property as defined by law, be increased by 18 mills (which is equal to $18 per $1,000 of taxable value of real and tangible personal property), for a period of five (5) years, from July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2013, for the purpose of paying part of the operating expenses of the school district?  The estimated amount of revenue that the school district will collect in the year 2008 if the millage is authorized and levied will be $16,000,000. The proposed millage is a renewal of a previously authorized millage.


Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. at the following precinct locations, which are handicap accessible:

 1, 2  - Taylor Parks School, 20614 Pinecrest
 3, 4  - Hoover Junior High, 27101 Beverly
 5, 7, 8  - Ford Senior Center, 6750 Troy
 6, 10, 11 - Blair Moody School, 8280 Hipp
 9, 14  - Wareing School, 24800 Hayes
12, 13, 19 - Clarence Randall School, 8699 Robert
15, 25  - Truman High School, 11211 Beech Daly
16, 17, 18 - West Junior High, 10575 William
20, 21 - Taylor Annex, 9551 Westlake
22, 23, 24 - Sheridan Community Center, 12111 Pardee
26, 28 - Maplewood Senior Apartments, 15270 Plaza S. Dr.
27, 29, 30, 31 - Human Services Building,  26650 Eureka

Please note that Precincts 20 and 21 have been relocated to the Taylor Annex at 9551 Westlake.