|Heritage West Mound Church was built in 1882 by a group of German settlers who came to Taylor to improve their lives. The church was dubbed West Mound, as it was built on a small hill west of Wyandotte. William Perry who operated a lumber business in Wyandotte built the church. He was married to Roxanna Coan. The Coans, believed to be Taylor’s first settlers, donated the property the church was built on along with acreage for a cemetery. The church was used as a sanctuary until 1962, and afterwards as a day care center and youth meeting place. The Taylor Jaycees hosted their Haunted House in the building from 1975-1978. Through the efforts of the Taylor Historical Society and countless volunteers, the City relocated the building to Heritage Park in 1994 and fully restored to its original condition. Replica pews, restored pulpit and lectern, rebuilt 1845 pipe organ and colorful stained glass windows all add to the beautiful setting for weddings offered by the Taylor Wedding Chapel and concerts and special programs hosted by the Taylor Historical Society.|
Couples seeking a place to marry where history and tradition flourish, are attracted to Heritage Park. Intimate, candlelight ceremonies are performed inside Heritage Park West Mound Church, one of downriver's oldest churches. This is a place where generation after generation, people can come together and feel the warmth of times gone by, while creating new memories in a church not just made of wood, but a place of heart, soul and spirit.
The towering steeple can be seen as one approaches the park. A grand, natural wood staircase ascends to the large porch. The view overlooks tranquil Coan Lake, which is crossed by a covered bridge and surrounded by historic buildings and replicas.
Guests enter the church through double oak doors. Colorful lights dance and flicker on the walls and ceiling as rays of sunlight streak through Grisaille stained glass windows. Quaint pastel stenciling above the original moldings copy a pattern in the windows and accent the white walls. The natural pine wood work and floor of the church are original. The church is adorned with white antique pews trimmed in walnut and embellished with pew bows. Eleven of the pews are original. The alter wall and furniture are solid cherry wood and the black walnut lectern is accented with leaf-motif carvings. The romantic setting is an inspired blend of timeless tradition, intimacy and elegant charm.
As the ceremony begins, the bride walks down the aisle to meet her groom while traditional wedding music may be played on an antique organ dating back to the nineteenth century.
Scenic Heritage Park has traditionally been a favorite photography site for local brides and grooms. Memories are captured throughout the charming little village surrounding Coan Lake. Preferred photographic sites include the covered bridge, park benches, the caboose and boxcar, little red schoolhouse, the Gristmill and other historic buildings in the park.