New K of C Assembly is formed in Taylor

A new assembly of fourth-degree Knights of Columbus, the Pope John Paul II Assembly 2942, recently formed at St. Alfred Parish in Taylor.
To mark the event, Auxiliary Bishop Francis Reiss celebrated a Mass at St. Alfred on July 22, followed by an installation of officers at the All Saints Council K of C Hall in Taylor.
The Knights of Columbus are organized into four degrees, having attained each level by completing requirements for each. The focus of the first is charity, and strength is the focus of second-degree knights. Fraternity is the third principle, and patriotism is the fourth.
The fourth-degree Knights, dressed in the elaborate military-style hats, capes and swords, are the most visible at special ceremonies.
Thirty men are required to organize a fourth-degree assembly — the Taylor branch began with 52. Twenty-five are new members, and the rest transferred from assemblies in Wyandotte and Allen Park.
William Downing was installed as the first Faithful Navigator, the top post in the assembly.

Also installed were Grand Knight Robert Prusakikewicz, Chaplain Deacon Gerard McGowan, Deputy Grand Knight Oliver Wendt, Captain Gary Patrick, Comptroller Joseph Kimmel, Warden Robert Sekeres, Advocate Frank Galley and Junior Trustee John Kruszko. 

Others were Pilot Henry Laige, Purser Robert Spencer, Scribe Richard Lambrix, Sentinel Anthony Teglash, Admiral Stanley Silka, Chancellor Robert Ghena, Treasurer Ron Gingrich, Recorder Richard Butkowski, Lecturer Anthony Schiebold, Guards Thaddeus Jurek, Walter McElhaney and Anthony Teglash, and Trustees David Prusakiewicz, Timothy Faremouth and Eric Utterback.

-- Donna Abramzcak, The News-Herald Newspapers, August 20, 2006