News Flash

Citywide News

Posted on: April 23, 2021

Candidates announced for August Primary Election


Voters will face a slate of four candidates for mayor and 18 for City Council on the August 3 Primary Election ballot in the City of Taylor. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. that day.

For more voter information, click here

The Clerk's Office officially published the names of all of the candidates today. Each candidate was required to submit a nominating petition including at least 150 signatures to the Clerk by April 20 at 4 p.m. The requirements also included an Affidavit of Identity and a statement of candidacy. Qualifications are that the candidate has to be 18, a registered voter and be a resident of the City for at least one year.

Candidates for mayor are Alex Garza, Jeff Jones, Rick Sollars and Tim Woolley.

Candidates for council are Amy Atwood, Jill Brandana, Tina Daniels, Sam Ditzhazy, Nick Dmitruchina, Martin Drouillard, Douglas Geiss, Charley Johnson, Chrissy Masters Carmona, Justin Mordarski, Korey Morris, Caroline Patts, Herman Ramik, Lindsey Rose, Ira Slaven, Asha Tyson, Chris Verdun, and Angie Winton.

City Clerk Cindy Bower and Treasurer Michelle Tocco are unopposed on this year's ballot. 

The primary will trim the candidates for mayor to two, of which one will be selected by the voters in November. The candidates for council will be cut to 14 after the August primary, and the top seven vote-getters in the November 2 election are seated as the new City Council. 

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Citywide News

taylor-globe no background

City Council approves 2021-22 budget

Posted on: April 26, 2021
taylor-globe no background

Lyon, Gibbs named to key DPS posts

Posted on: March 30, 2021